So long Southland; Lamar University headed to the WAC

  • WAC

So long Southland Conference. Lamar University, along with fellow Southland school’s Abilene Christian, Sam Houston State and Stephen F. Austin have officially announced they are moving conferences to the Western Athletic Conference (WAC). In addition, Southern Utah is expected to join. Tarleton State and Dixie State will move to the WAC, but are ineligible for the FCS Playoffs next season as they transition from NCAA Division II to FCS.

A press conference will be held Thursday, Jan. 14, at 11 a.m. at NRG Park in Houston and will include WAC Commissioner Jeff Hurd, Ken Evans (Lamar University President), Brian Mueller (Grand Canyon University President), Alisa White (Sam Houston State President), Alisa White (Sam Houston State President), Scott Gordon (SFA President) and Scott Wyatt (Southern Utah University President).

Members of the WAC include California Baptist, California State-Bakersfield, Chicago State, Grand Canyon, University of Missouri-Kansas City, Seattle University, UTRGV and Utah Valley. New Mexico State is also a member of the WAC in all sports except football, in which the Aggies participate as an FBS independent.

The WAC will institute football for the first time since 2012.